← Back to Blog

From Pharmacist to Software Engineer: My Journey to a YC Startup

July 30, 2024 (2mo ago)

22 views

The Beginning: A Pharmacy Graduate

In 2018, I graduated with a Bachelor's in Pharmacy and had an offer in hand from Torrent Pharmaceuticals Ltd. Life seemed set on a predictable path, but little did I know that my childhood fascination with computers would eventually lead me down a completely different road.

Torrent's Employee

The Pharmaceutical Years

For 2.5 years, I worked at Torrent Pharmaceuticals, starting as a Trainee Technical Assistant and eventually being promoted to Technical Assistant. My days were filled with manufacturing and dispensing semi-solid dosage forms like creams, ointments, and lotions for top companies like GSK and Abbott.

timeline
    2018 : Graduated in Pharmacy
         : Joined Torrent Pharmaceuticals
    2020 : Promoted to Technical Assistant
    2021 : Left Torrent Pharmaceuticals

The Turning Point

Despite the stability of my pharmaceutical career, something was missing. The COVID-19 pandemic brought a lot of changes and reflections. It was during this time that I decided to make a change.

A Brief Marketing Detour

After a few months of unemployment and soul-searching, I took a friend's advice and ventured into pharmaceutical marketing. I joined Group Pharmaceuticals as a Marketing Associate, where I learned about product marketing and tracking progress.

The Spark: Discovering Masai School

One day, a friend told me about Masai School, an institution that helps non-CS students transition into IT careers. This was the opportunity I had been waiting for!

The Masai Journey: Intense and Rewarding

Masai School's curriculum was intense, following a 9-9-6 schedule (9 AM to 9 PM, 6 days a week). But it was exactly what I needed.

Masai Day 1

const masaiJourney = {
  duration: "7-8 months",
  curriculum: ["HTML", "CSS", "JavaScript", "Full Stack Development", "DSA"],
  schedule: "9AM - 9PM, 6 days/week",
  outcome: "Confident Software Developer",
};
 
console.log(`After ${masaiJourney.duration} of intense learning, I became a ${masaiJourney.outcome}`);

The Job Hunt: Persistence Pays Off

Armed with my new skills, I started reaching out to people on LinkedIn, Naukri, and other job portals. Persistence was key, and finally, a door opened at Rootfi Technologies, a Y Combinator startup.

The Final Test: Data Manipulation Challenge

The tech lead at Rootfi, Neeraj, gave me a data manipulation task. I tackled it using Node.js and PostgreSQL, completing it in just 2-3 days.

// Pseudo-code for the data manipulation task
const manipulateData = async (data) => {
  const processedData = await processWithNodejs(data);
  const result = await storeInPostgres(processedData);
  return result;
};
 
// The actual implementation was much more complex!

The Dream Realized: Software Engineer at a YC Startup

After one more follow-up round with the CEO, I received the offer. Today, I'm in Bengaluru, working as a Software Engineer at Rootfi Technologies, finally doing what I love.

Dream come true

Lessons Learned

  1. It's never too late to pursue your passion
  2. Continuous learning is key in the tech industry
  3. Networking and persistence can open doors
  4. Practical skills and problem-solving abilities are highly valued

Conclusion

My journey from pharmacy to software engineering wasn't straightforward, but it was certainly worth it. If you're considering a career switch, remember: with dedication, the right resources, and a bit of courage, you can transform your career and your life.

Are you thinking about making a career switch? Feel free to reach out – I'd love to hear your story and offer any advice I can!